HomeНаука и техникаRelated VideosMore From: VWestlife

$89 Sylvania Windows CE Netbook detailed review

1024 ratings | 155595 views
**DOES NOT RUN WINDOWS 7, 8, VISTA, or XP** Two decades ago, you could buy a Sinclair ZX81 computer for under $100. Now you can get a much more capable "Netbooklet" for that price. Also known as the TinyBook, SmartBook, or Wireless Book, this is the 7-inch Sylvania Netbook, running Windows CE 6.0 on an ARM-compatible VIA 8505 CPU. It has built-in Wireless G connectivity, and has basic Internet functionality, including the ability to view YouTube videos. Normal PC applications will not run on it, but if you look hard enough, you can find software for Windows CE (whose interface will remind you a lot of Windows 95). Users have also reported some success in installing Linux or the Google Android operating system. Sylvania also has an "OS Update" available on their web site, but be warned that it wipes out all your files and removes some useful applications, so be sure to do a full backup before installing it.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (1012)
stv pls (8 days ago)
I want it
The Great Pineapple (25 days ago)
Back then when Kmart was alive
Nicolas R. (1 month ago)
Can it run Windows 10?
VWestlife (1 month ago)
No.
R2D2productions 10 (1 month ago)
This one is relative to the old version but it was released after xp. And it had xp windows. Nearly.
R2D2productions 10 (1 month ago)
Wait it had widgets!?
Marusame (2 months ago)
wtf, 10:00 it came preloaded with anime wallpapers? the hell?
Red Tony (2 months ago)
I bought one back in 2010 in September and I was pretty pissed to find out that the YouTube app was unsupported right out of the box
Dave Rodjesian (2 months ago)
I had the Magnavox version of this netbook back in 2009. The USB ports were 1.1 and were not compatible with external drives. I gave it to my niece years ago.
Ahmed360 (2 months ago)
Bezels are T H I C C
Jeff Gamer (2 months ago)
I have that computer
Tillmann Taute (2 months ago)
if it had 256 MB and more, i would run windows 10. then that useless arm apps only is removed thanks to the x86 emulator.
RecordTV Asia (2 months ago)
Elevo R7 is indonesian windows ce 6.0 laptop also does not run windows xp/vista/7/8/10!
Reviewed Popcorn (3 months ago)
It was just a glorified kids learning laptop
Nathan David (3 months ago)
Nowadays Windows CE can hardly do anything. Android 2.2 is crippling slow and painful to use just like the very few working distros of Linux. Speaking of Linux for these netbooks, it’s out of the question, they either don’t work, can’t do anything with it and internet does not work. I did find a version of Android 1.5.2 that didn’t work. I did find 1.6 which worked very well and doesn’t chop up and choke up that much. Linux would be more usable on an WM8650 or an 8850 that is faster than the WM8505 which are in most netbooks you find. Being stuck with Windows CE for some reason leaves you with IE 6 or using Zetakey which eats up your RAM like crazy. In fact, once Zetakey has to close and the system reported that I had 0MB of RAM left. The only thing now that would give this netbook a use is to use it to connect to a screen share with your main PC.
Jack Kraken (3 months ago)
That was a bit of a dick move to add an XP skin to Windows CE. I can see folks being duped by this especially non technical people.
Kaden-Playz Minecraft (4 months ago)
Windows CE?
VWestlife (4 months ago)
Windows CE!
Alpha (4 months ago)
Windows CE (Windows Crap Edition)
The Tyttuutface (4 months ago)
I saw a similar netbook for sale in CVS when I was 8 or so, and I thought it was so cool. In retrospect I'm really glad I couldn't convince my mom to buy it.
george maragos (5 months ago)
Hi All, Actually i have 3 of these, myself and both kids had one, we used them as a fancy calendar / diary. At the time it did connect to the internet via wifi and we also have our yahoo email set up on it. Today , 2 of them still work, but i just turn them on every 6 months to see if they still work. The battery still charges up and lasts for just over a hour #1 has a cracked screen, #2 is all original with winc3 but i may have upgraded it via a SD media card, #3 was upgrade 3 or 4 years ago to Android just for fun. The stock Wince plays mp3 and some other common for the day format , small avi's, it also has cut down version of word and excel - actually it was a good digital diary with a very sharp and scrips screen I searched for smart media or the cpu type and found a few web links, i have a bag of media card, most are from nokia days and have photos but 1 should have 3 cards with original software , the upgrade and the android version. I cant remember what i paid from them, but the seller is saved in my ebay dated 11/05/2010 they were about $120-$150 AU each which was about 15-20% of a notebook price Today it just historic and not collectable
Timur Tripp (5 months ago)
What amazes me the most about this is that VWestlife's video style / quality is almost unchanged since 2010...
Frazzle Face (5 months ago)
$100 will buy you a scruff and scratch but much more capable refurbished laptop. Very little point in this except for its oddity value.
Koolio Person (6 months ago)
Is ram (memory) upgrade a choice?
Koolio Person (6 months ago)
VWestlife Darn I knew it would have been a longshot, anyway thanks for the reply
VWestlife (6 months ago)
No.
Theresa Horton (6 months ago)
Kmart died.
Saavik256 (6 months ago)
Hah, as someone who is fond of Windows CE, I'd love to have one of these. :)
Kyle's Tech Channel (6 months ago)
13:43 FIREFLIES
Leos Technik Kanal (5 months ago)
What did you di with it if you dont have it anymore ,and can you still buy it anywhere ?
VWestlife (7 months ago)
I sold it.
SCS Gaming (7 months ago)
wow
Taven Brunette (7 months ago)
flashlight lol
Alejandro Vargas (7 months ago)
I was wondering... If it has an ARM processor, which is essentially a RISC-based architecture CPU, will it run Windows NT 3.5/4.0, since those versions were designed to be compatible with both x86 and RISC processors?
VWestlife (7 months ago)
No. The hardware and CPU are still far too different.
Jacob Turner (7 months ago)
What's the song played from 13:06-13:36? I've been trying to figure it out for the better part of an hour. I'm probably mishearing the lyrics, and the "search by sound" thing isn't returning anything. I can't get a proper read of the filename or anything.
Jacob Turner (6 months ago)
VWestlife Thanks!
VWestlife (7 months ago)
X-Dreams - "Mary Ann"
SnowWall (7 months ago)
Cute!
WindowsSonic 2004 (7 months ago)
8:40 SideBar Before Longhorn
Hacker InsideTM (7 months ago)
At my local Rite Aid, I see a Windows 10 version of these computers for 129 dollars.
MattTheGamerHongKong (7 months ago)
Windows CE Windows ME Windows NT Featuring Windows CEMENT
Rambotiツ (8 months ago)
Who watching this in 2018? :D
Austin Taylor (8 months ago)
I wonder if Android can run on this. I've seen Windows CE running on Motorola Symbol price scanners.
Pavle Stanković (9 months ago)
Has he done the review of the computer which is connected to that "Philips" monitor?
Pavle Stanković (8 months ago)
Oh, ok, thank you. :)
VWestlife (9 months ago)
That's one of my Compaq Deskpro EN machines. I've done several videos about them.
Ace Rimmer (9 months ago)
They sold this at Currys in the UK back in 2011, it was re-branded something generic like 'NetBrowser'. IIRC it was selling for £69.99 and the first 'real' netbook was £99.99.
Jeremiah Kubiak (9 months ago)
I just noticed the website you use at 4:30 (tmstudios) are you a radio jingle collector, or do you work in the business? if your a collector hit me up at [email protected]
Parker Young (9 months ago)
Years ago, I wanted to buy one of these netbooks from my local CVS. Thank god I didn't buy it, it's legit crap.
Simos Katsiaris (9 months ago)
wow, this video is old, i'm watching this in December 2017!
Simos Katsiaris but WiFi doesn't work for me :/
Simos Katsiaris i have this laptop running Debian sid
Psythik (9 months ago)
My old phone has more RAM than this netbook.
Adam Burns (9 months ago)
As an electrician, I recognise Sylvania, they manufacture light fixtures and fluorescent tubes, what the hell were they doing with a netbook? 😂
Hmm, I once bought a red one of these CE laptops at Toys'R'us for 99 bucks.... i think back in 2011... I forgot about it until now, wonder what happened to it....
WowplayerMe (9 months ago)
I found a great use for this "netbook", works perfectly as a door stop.
WowplayerMe I have this laptop , running Linux (Debian SiD)
jake robert (9 months ago)
i wanted to get this laptop back when i tunred 11. damn glad i didnt
TaylorSwiftFan01313 (9 months ago)
Lol 11:11 meijer orange juice 😂 I work there
22408aaron (10 months ago)
Windows CE is not a bad operating system, and it is actually very useful in certain applications. Windows CE is not very user friendly because it is designed to be small (the operating system only takes megabytes to run) and run on devices with small processors, such as point of sale systems, car radios, DVRs, etc. where installing a full fledged operating system with a full fledged Intel processor wouldn't be practical. This is a case where someone thought they could make a quick buck using the same technology found in devices previously mentioned, and turning it into a laptop of sorts. It does not work very well because, surprise surprise, it is doing what it is commonly designed to do.
Infront of the meme (10 months ago)
Can it run gta
CHRISTOPHER HANSON (10 months ago)
Looks like a DVD player
graywolf89 (10 months ago)
it looks a lot like one of those potable DVD player but with key bored
Adam Franklin (10 months ago)
windows ce (windows crap edition)
Azam (11 months ago)
win ce ce= crap edtion
Shrek (11 months ago)
Now you can get a 11” inch laptop with touch screen, removeable keyboard and running Windows 10. They have 1.33GHz Intel quad cores and 2gb of ram for $99. I have one and play System Shock 2, Fallout 1&2 and Rimworld at work on break. It was $99, so if it gets stolen, scratched, broke, stomped or just dies on its own, who cares?
Andrew Cole (11 months ago)
Would have probably gotten one back in the day for on the go work
Lukie Vie (11 months ago)
Windows CE... Bill Gate: This is the Window-- *Got Pushed Away By Bill Fence* Bill Fence: This is the Windows CE. This is like the Windows 3.0! It doesn't even act like Windows 95 or 98! It's just a WINDOWS 3.0! We recommend you to buy this before the new version of Windows comes out! It should be Windows XP... We deleted it and changed it to the Windows Vista! Windows XP is now at the first version ever in Windows! I mean... It's DELETED! Have a happy time using the best system ever Windows CE! *Kills Bill Gate* PPL: #BILLFENCEFOREVER! Me: WTF is going on now... I bet you will leave a like. Hello Like Leaver. #LikeLeaver
jumpboy 828 (11 months ago)
Can't we just install xp on it ?
VWestlife (11 months ago)
Yes, but only a very old version of Android.
jumpboy 828 (11 months ago)
+VWestlife can it run android
VWestlife (11 months ago)
Sure... if there ever existed a version of Windows XP that supports the VIA 8505 CPU. No such thing.
Ben M8 (11 months ago)
this video is such a fever dream
Bri Barrett (11 months ago)
chromebooks are better
Jim Dayton (1 year ago)
Does anyone have a link for the update file?
Intellitech Studios (1 year ago)
This has more ports than the new MacBook Pro 😂
Jonathan50 (1 year ago)
Two of my favourite things. Obscure, dead versions of MS Windows and Owl City's Fireflies. I rate 10/10
Chakky-P (1 year ago)
YOU WOULD NOT BELIEVE YOUR EYES
1995Supra Black (1 year ago)
I remember somebody buying this at work. As an IT Manager, I felt so bad to tell the person they just got F*CKED. She was such a nice lady. She was so excited. I told her to bring it back. She was thankful though that I saved her money.
GusCE6 (1 year ago)
I have one of these things- bought it back in 2012 at a garage sale for $20.00. It was a terrible waste of money- at first. The update Digital gadgets installed had Windows Wordpad, which was a HUGE improvement. The Youtube add-on for the TCPMP player no longer worked, and IE 6 was mostly- well, my brother worked at Microsoft and didn't have pleasant things to say about it. Overall, it was not very useful. But I was intrigued, and as little as I knew about these things I started doing some research. Long story short, I found a number of useful applications: Opera Mini 5 browser which even today allows me to do most things I want to do online, including interaction and uploading art at Deviantart.com; the incredible SoftMaker CE which is essentially Microsoft Office and allows you to produce even PDF files from Excel, PowerPoint, and Word (and yes DOCX etc. and Apache OpenOffice are included); the TCPMP Player v.8; the superb COREPlayer v1.3.6 which has RTSP capacity so you can watch Youtube Mobile videos; the GS Player for music- lots of options; some good EXE games like DOOM as well as javascript and Flash games (Flashlite-able); and now that I know some Javascript programming pseudo-apps for typing text while reading another, viewing an image and typing, etc. It has calculators about as good as those on the 2012 ASUS. It has hex editors, and a nifty app for adding images to MP3 songs. CKE is somewhat helpful, and even a couple of art programs. Oh yes, and a good digital book reader. With Internet Explorer 6 change the cache value to "8192" and the image viewers- including my JS ones- can do far better. Technicians assured me that it could NOT stream Internet radio, guess what I got it do do by isolating the URLS and putting them into M3U and PLS files? Only iHeart (Flash) stations are a problem. If I can figure out how to change memory allocation (no the slider is not the answer) it'll be ten times what it is. I want to program my own browser, able to shunt HTML5 videos and audio through the TCPMP Player v.81. But getting started- nobody seems eager to help. It would draw memory using something akin to ReadyBoost. But again getting started. I also want to improve its Flash abilities, and add the option to deliberately drop video frames with the TCPMP Players so it can play 360p and even 480p videos well enough. Fact is, if I can figure out some of these things this netbook will be a perfectly viable device. As it is it is useful even in 2017 so that would be 11 years for a piece of rubbish. A bit slow, what with a 300mHz 8505 ARM processor, but as long as it gets there.
Crust stuffer (1 year ago)
White is right
Tina Newhouse (1 year ago)
13:41 It's. Owl City. FIREFLIES!!!!!!!
Keir O'Neill (1 year ago)
You can buy one of those netbooks for $13.00 on ebay now. That netbook was actually fairly new at the time that I got my first computer, but my first computer was a desktop.
DodoGTA GT (1 year ago)
You would not believe your eyes if 10 million netbooks lit up the world by running Crysis 3
Johnny Castro (1 year ago)
can it run crisis?
Konrad C (1 year ago)
What a waste of plastic and resources. Why do the chinese make crap? They still do
VWestlife (1 year ago)
Longcat is loooooong.
Soldium (1 year ago)
13:41 yoU WouLd nOt BeLIeVe YoUr EyeS
Samuel Tortellini (1 year ago)
13:43 YOU MIGHT NOT BELIEVE YOUR EYES
BetaRiffs (1 year ago)
Is it just me or does this "Netbooklet" look like a fucking toy.
Squorch974 (1 year ago)
It really does, even considering age the quality is just garbage
trevortornadoes122 (1 year ago)
I can only wonder if YouTube still works on this thing...
Ford Mavericks OS X (1 year ago)
Very interesting. I didn't know k-Mart even sold these at on time! I only found out about Windows CE recently, and find it very fascinating. Can you still find these netbooks anymore and how much are they worth?
VWestlife (1 year ago)
No, and not much.
caillou does Gaming (1 year ago)
does this thing have bluetooth or wifi
VWestlife (1 year ago)
Did you watch the video?
Doki Doki Gaming (1 year ago)
Is this what Sora had in the first Digimon movie?
TableWolfMusic (1 year ago)
The uses for these things are very niche these days. Some digital to analogue hardware boards have C# coding support with WindowsCE drivers. Good for automation. You wouldn't use it online though. EDIT Also, if you live in Ireland you need no TV license to own that netbook since the screen is below 11inches. Hey, I didn't write those rules.
JorgesVeryOwnChannel (1 year ago)
Didn't they use Windows CE on the Dreamcast?
Codemaster (1 year ago)
Jorgo Yes and no. Developers could develop a game and port it using Windows CE to make it easier or use SEGA's own kernel which was more powerful. Besides running a game, no, it never runs actual WinCE OS.
aXis (1 year ago)
jorge schoetz They sure did, and they used it for Crazy Taxi, I believe.
KingShoter007 (1 year ago)
I can't see myself buying this in 2010. Even in 2007. If it were a bit more powerful and ran actual XP, then it may have made sense due to the small size and price, but with CE, no way. Back in 2007/2010 I was still using my Fujitsu Siemens Pentium 3 laptop, and it performs in XP better than this does in CE.
izools (1 year ago)
INTEL ARM!!!?????? Brooooo.... ARM architecture has precisely nothing whatsoever to do with Intel. ARM architecture was developed by Acorn Computers in Cambridge, England, in 1984 and is still licensed out by what the company evolved into, ARM holdings, still headquartered in Cambridge, England, and 33 years following the invention of this architecture they still receive a license fee from the likes of Apple, Qualcomm, Mediatek, et. al, every time they produce an ARM-based CPU. Intel don't produce any ARM based CPUs and have desperately tried competing for the embedded and smartphone / tablet market that ARM CPUs dominate, but aren't going to win because of the inherent low power consumption of the ARM architecture when compared with x86 architecture. Fun Fact: when the original ARM prototype board was created and hooked up to a BBC Micro host computer the developers noticed that the CPU was running even though they hadn't connected the prototype board to its power supply - the ARM was getting enough power from the current the protection diodes were leaking from the interface it was connected to on the BBC Micro to power it!! Something it's developers had never even conceived as a possibility at the time - they'd never intended it to be a low power consumption CPU, this was mere happenchance, and it would be nearly two decades on before we started to see the architecture used in mainstream smartphones.
TehMondasianSpartan (1 year ago)
Is it possible to game on this device with highest settings?
VWestlife (1 year ago)
Yes, if you can find any games that can run on Windows CE and a VIA 8505 processor.
TheCrayCrayGirl (1 year ago)
This is kind of pointless. Just get one of those EEEpc's by asus. They are tiny but run win xp and 7 lite flawlessly
sushi dream (1 year ago)
what was the song you played in 13:20
sushi dream (1 year ago)
its not a bad song
VWestlife (1 year ago)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IsBPqA2oCwI
Joel Robert Justiawan (1 year ago)
Windows CE is a another Windows project for ARM PC. Nowadays, Windows 10 Phone.
Joel Robert Justiawan (1 year ago)
What if someone updated it without backup? could you please bring the software download link again?
Peyton Lutz (1 year ago)
If you are dedicated enough, you can get Windows CE 7 to run on this
Gage Parker (1 year ago)
i had an android version of this
This is 100% a Laptop or nothing
Kayvon Javid (1 year ago)
It would be a Chromebook now
CineRaphael (1 year ago)
This laptop is a piece of Junk worst than used laptop and Raspberry Pi 3
coondogtheman1234 (1 year ago)
But will it run classic Doom?
VWestlife (1 year ago)
No.
PayPal Security (1 year ago)
where are you baying these old laptop
PayPal Security (1 year ago)
ok thanks
VWestlife (1 year ago)
At a thrift store.
PayPal Security (1 year ago)
like the jetta jetbook 7855 Pentium 4
VWestlife (1 year ago)
Which one?
sushi dream (1 year ago)
today you can buy a cheap Windows 10 netbook for that price.
Vladimir (1 year ago)
cool
nichijou56 (1 year ago)
do a follow up review lol
nichijou56 (1 year ago)
oh alright
VWestlife (1 year ago)
I don't have it anymore.
MsJinkerson (1 year ago)
nice sound device for the car
ғl Ð'тll (1 year ago)
7 years later, i got one of these
Simon Han (2 months ago)
Wait --- was this bought at Kmart? Oh well. I think that I am never going to find this anymore. Anyway, nice netbook!
Michael _Howto&tech (1 year ago)
i have a satnav that runs Windows CE, i cant hack it yet though as sometimes it crashes if you try to override stuff.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.