HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: Linescrew1

Cheap Satellite Communication for your RV, Boat, or Hike (Review)

0 ratings | 8366 views
SUPPORT MY CHANNEL FOR FREE with AMAZON! This inreach explorer can be found at: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01MY03CZP/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=15121&creative=330641&creativeASIN=B01MY03CZP&linkCode=as2&tag=linescrew1-20&linkId=9df6b7bb763f61ed3577165935b8dd64 There are several options for communication in remote travel areas away from cell phone service and some of them are very expensive, like the Iridium Satellite Phones. This is an more cheaper alternative for communication and safety when traveling almost anywhere on earth. The Garmin inreach explorer+ sells for about $450 US dollars and requires a subscription service. Prices vary from country to country and you can select the plan that is right for you and they start at around $30 a month. A small price to pay to save your life or anyone else in an emergency I think. This unit can text 2 ways, send emails and post to Facebook and twitter and is also a GPS unit. The built in lithium battery has a long life and the unit is well built and water resistant. What are your thoughts on these devices? In the meantime, keep your wheels on the ground! Music used under paid license from Epidemic Sound.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (73)
Kelly McCoy (1 year ago)
I have the Explorer that goes everywhere with us. We are full time rv'ers and I have heart issues, so it delivers peace of mind. Mine is actually a Delorme Explorer. The brother in law works for Garmin so we got it for a 50% discount. We got it right in the middle of Garmin buying out Delorme. Were in the US and it works everywhere here, We also have the unlimited text plan that runs about $51 per month here in the states.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Kelly McCoy lol. I warned the people I was texting from an odd number!
Kelly McCoy (1 year ago)
Also have to remember to let the other person know who you are. Took a while to get past the "who is this?" response for the first couple weeks.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Kelly McCoy Yes, it takes 30 seconds to 3 minutes on average for the satellites to grab the text messages but it does seem to work!
Kelly McCoy (1 year ago)
We havent had any problems whatsoever. The family follows us on the mapshare page everywhere we go. The worst thing is the texting is a bit slow to send and receive, but works fine. Luckily we have never had to use the SOS feature, and hope we never need to.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Kelly McCoy Nice! Any problems to report?
jkirk1626 (3 months ago)
Why do you patronize the Communist country of Cuba?
David Porowski (4 months ago)
Like & Subscribe GR8 Product for when SHTF, which raises question, (obvious?) when SHTF, does that mean loss of subscription, too?
iviewthetube (5 months ago)
In addition, does the InReach do everything the Garmin GPS 60CSx does? I don't want to have to carry two devices.
Ben Cobb (1 year ago)
THANKS FOR SHARING
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
No worries. Thanks for watching the adventure as it unfolds!
Borga Mucielli (1 year ago)
your sat phone is grand but adventure van man is going hamm radio. can lg3 and lg4 towers roam and share signals?
Jonathan Steele (1 year ago)
Have the inReach Explorer. Found it handy, and a gave piece of mind while out backpacking. I will say, after you cancel service keep an eye on your bank account. Three months after cancelling they stilled billed me for each month. Had to call each month to remind them I cancelled. Finally, I stopped having auto withdrawals, followed with refunds.
Sid (1 year ago)
My thoughts are ....if your having a heart attack in the deep woods with no one around...your screwed. Oh also take some aspirin pills with you
blackturtleshow (1 year ago)
I've seen the Spot and I was considering it, but never got around to getting one. Great review of the features of this device!
RuskyED (1 year ago)
Да, весьма полезное конструкция!
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
blackturtleshow The Spot sucks compared to this device. I know that you hike and explore lots and this device could save your life. No small price saved is worth your life I think.
FRUGAL PRIUS-RV (1 year ago)
Do you post on Cheap RV living .com? They have a forum and it is pretty decent you could leave a link to your video you can explain your video some intro it and tell them to look at this GREAT LIFE SAVING Device. This is the site produced by Bob Wells founder of the RTR. http://www.cheaprvliving.com/forums/
Prepper? I like it on my plate! Remember that one?
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
One Awesome Inch Ha! A Jean Chretien reference??
Does it work in the Massey Tunnel?😂😂😂
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
One Awesome Inch Satellite communications only work when they can see the heavens. Something like prayer but more technical! lol
Lost On Land Again (1 year ago)
Technology.... What will they come up with next?
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Lost On Land Again Free internet porn. Oh wait, they got that! How about free ice cream for everybody?! That would be nice actually!
RV Legal Eagle & Paws (1 year ago)
Now all you need is it to be an unlimited wifi hotspot too:)
RV Legal Eagle & Paws (1 year ago)
True....and it was a really good find:)
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
RV Legal Eagles & Paws Well it can send emails too!
good info nice to know the price is getting more affordable on these hopefully it will get even cheaper over the next few years.. . for now I'm still planning the majority of my camping in places where I'll get a cell signal I've been speaking with the people at Winegard and they assure me it won't be much longer before they have a self-tuning antenna like they do for satellite television but for satellite internet : ) if I do start doing much out of range camping I'm going to need either satellite phone or satellite internet because I also have a few medical issues and I'll developmental issues if I don't have some way to stay up to date with what's going on in the world : )
Linescrew1 I've been thinking about shortwave for awhile now
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Shortwave radio for your information and a Garmin for your communication. It will doubtfully get much cheaper than this due to the billions invested in satellite launches at least not in our lifetime.
fbabdiver (1 year ago)
actually you are better off with a transmitter and receiver like HAM if you are a prepper. the satellites will all be disrupted by the EMP just before the giant air pressure change. Just remember folks- keep your mouth open so you dont blow your eardrums! just kidding/ not really
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
fbabdiver That's true but few people that are watching this will buy ham equipment or get the ham license. This is a simple safety device for now available to anyone.
Health Travelers (1 year ago)
Good Information! What would it be approximately out the door at point-of-purchase in US$ and monthly?
Kevin J (1 year ago)
Health Travelers looking on amazon comments. It is $144 per year for the ten messages per month plan. Then it goes up in monthly price from there. $600 per year is the expensive unlimited plan. So is $12 per month worth it to you for ten messages (maybe $0.10 to $0.50 for additional messages). Basically it like the old text data plans from ten years ago. --- wife mentions that we might get this when we go to remote west or remote Canada or remote Alaska. Otherwise we stick to cities and highways that have cell service.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Health Travelers $450 us is a typical price but you need a subscription after that.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Health Travelers You need to look at your American Garmin Web site as the price is different in many countries. If you were here they might be cheaper with the American dollar and the rebates.
Aethelwulf Freawine (1 year ago)
Good info! I've spent a lot of time trying to figure what's what and best for my needs. Pardon me, did you say your past life was "coroner" in the bush? Survey crew? Cheers!
JonTanOsb (1 year ago)
Nothing like 20 guys doing a grid search in the bush. But that was volunteer search and rescue.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Aethelwulf Frithugar They find dead people in the forest all the time here. It was one of many gigs. Hey it got me a pension!
Janis Meader (1 year ago)
awesome! very practical, I definitely have to get one. so, I am going to do some serious saving up funds for this. ( it's like a form of insurance). thanks again Andrew😃
Janis Meader (1 year ago)
+Kevin J good idea thanks
Kevin J (1 year ago)
Janis Meader you can always get a ham radio license. Spend $1000 on HF radio equipment. Spend three months learning everything about radio and maybe morse code. And then do it all. --- trying to do this myself.
Janis Meader (1 year ago)
+Linescrew1 yea it's better than nothing . I don't know if anyone can do smoke signals🔥
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Janis Meader Well nothing is forever: those satellites will eventually de-orbit too and space junk will make orbital science almost impossible soon but until then: this is as cheap and as good as it gets! lol
Janis Meader (1 year ago)
+Linescrew1 alot of areas in Michigan are phasing out land lines, and if the power goes out your own your own. people have to remember that cell towers can malfunction or fail.
RoadStead (1 year ago)
81 mg aspirin a day....keep those strokes and heart attacks away!
Douger Rohmer (1 year ago)
So gowan! Tell us what your subscription cost in Canada! Is it a once off payment per month, or per call / minutes?
Douger Rohmer (1 year ago)
Awesome! Thanks!
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
You can do it with a yearly subscription or as you go. Since they are paying my 1st month via a rebate, it's $75 Canadian dollars (about $60 a month) for unlimited use. You can move that down for way less if you just want 100 messages a month or just for emergencies. All countries price this differently and in the currency of your nation so it is not worth discussing much. Go to the Garmin web site of your country for current prices, as rebates and sales often occur.
Patricia Poudrier (1 year ago)
Great idea! I'll be getting one eventually. (when we finally hit the road). I have too many health issues to be without! Getting old sucks sometimes! LOL Safe travels my friend!
biker bud (5 months ago)
Getting old only sucks if you abused your body in younger years, smoking, drinking, drugs, bad eating habits.  People wonder why they have health issues. Then they get older and think taking pills prescribed by a doctor is the answer and continue same bad habits that got them in their situation. Eating healthy consistently can reverse many health issues. Bad habits are hard to break.
JonTanOsb (1 year ago)
Getting old beats the alternative.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
The alternative to getting old is death...so keep getting old my friend!
lakelizard (1 year ago)
Well worth it, if you're going to be venturing into wilderness.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Indeed.
Christa Erika (1 year ago)
Is it waterproof.. ie if used on boating or canoeing outings?
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Yes it is water resistant to 1 meter (3 feet) as long as you keep the charging port closed. It could easily be left out in the rain and survive.
CITAP1 (1 year ago)
Tech just keeps getting better and better! There's usually a hiker every day or two in the remote areas if you need help (joking). Just get your weight down, take 87 mg aspirin daily, Take your BP medications to keep it under 140/90, and get your minimum 30 minutes a day or twice a day even better vigorous walking/exercise in. Take care,,,
CITAP1 (1 year ago)
Did I not mention Don't Smoke? Don't Smoke. Also cut back on the dairy, fat, and especially sugar. Artificial sweetener isn't much if at all better. Try not to eat after 6. I lost 70 pounds and feel great from practicing all the above. John, 1Tiliman channel, is on the downside of heart issues but is working to get back up after a few stents. Currently undergoing a heart strengthening treatment he says is working. Bugger still smokes a bit.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
My blood pressure is fine but I should lose 20 pounds and go more easy on my smoking. Kids listen to me: don't smoke!!
RV Crazy (1 year ago)
At Cabelas you can occasionally buy 15 and 20% off gift cards on eBay. I have a stockpile of them right now.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
The border probably is a barrier but you might be able to get one cheap and with the Canadian rebate too! You can actually communicate from one device to another via satellite too.
RV Crazy (1 year ago)
Linescrew1 I'm not sure how gift cards work crossing the border but you can spend their gift cards just like cash and use coupons and employee discount cards as well to stack the discounts.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
The $150 rebate going on sold me. If you want one with a Canadian rebate with your strong American dollar you know my number!!
The Shootist (1 year ago)
*"This is an more cheaper alternative for communication . . . "* Really?
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Yes, it is cheaper than the OTHER satellite option of iridium satellite phones...you priced them out lately and their subscription plans?? What is your option? Smoke signals? 2 tin cans and a long string? I don't think you watched the video...no other cheap option for global remote communication than this.
2012escapee1 (1 year ago)
I'm still waiting for affordable satellite internet. That would expand my boondocking opportunities.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
True. With a contract over time the price does go down however for internet data via satellite. It took BILLIONS of dollar to get those 5 or 6 dozen satellites up into orbit and the original Iridium company went bankrupt over it when they first tried it so I doubt there will be a cheaper alternative for many years. It is amazing that this service is as affordable as it is for the price given the economic reality of the technology.
2012escapee1 (1 year ago)
And you also have to buy and install a lot of equipment, like $1,000 - $2,000 worth.
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Oh they have it and I have looked at it: there is serious latency (time interval delay due to sending data to space and back) and it has very limited bandwidth. Streaming video and uploading youtube video on it is a hassle and very slow. It's not that much money (relatively speaking) but you don't get much for your money!!
Ernest Lingerfelt (1 year ago)
I work on rvs in remote areas and i need one of these / thanks bro / hows yours doing in in  North Georgia/ Dahlonega
Linescrew1 (1 year ago)
Mine works fine here in Canada and I am sure it will work anywhere on Earth as they say! Anyone up for a hike to the north pole? lol.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.